Find My Friends: Stop sharing your location altogether
If you don’t want anyone to know your location, you can turn off the Share My Location setting. You can turn off location sharing temporarily or indefinitely.
If you turn off Share My Location in Find My Friends, your friends and anyone temporarily following you through Messages won’t be able to see you, because location sharing settings for both Find My Friends and Messages are managed with iCloud.
When Share My Location is off:
Anyone following you can’t see you, but you can see the people you’re following.
You still receive requests to follow you.
If someone set a location-based notification for you or if you set one for yourself, no one is notified if you change locations.
Note: If you set up restrictions for Find My Friends, you can’t turn off Share My Location or Location Services. Go to Settings > Screen Time > Content & Privacy Restrictions > Location Services to see if the restrictions need to be changed.
Turn off Share My Location, then tap Done.
When you turn off Share My Location in Find My Friends, the status is reflected in iCloud settings (Settings > [your name] > Share My Location) and Privacy settings (Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Share My Location).
Location Not Available appears below your name in Find My Friends on the devices of people following you, as if your device is turned off, in airplane mode, or just offline.