iCloud: Share notes

Share notes

If you’re using upgraded notes, you can invite people to view and edit a note by adding them to it. When you share a note, only people you invite can view and edit it, even if someone else has a link to the note. Everyone you add sees any changes made to the note.

If you accept an invitation to view and edit a shared note, you can see the changes that everyone makes.

Invite people to edit notes

You can share a note from the Notes app on iCloud.com. However, you can’t share a note you locked on your iOS device or Mac.

Note: Only the owner of a note can add and remove participants, though participants can always remove themselves.

  1. Go to Notes on iCloud.com, then click or write the note you want to share.

  2. Click the People button in the toolbar, then select a sharing option.

    • Email: Click Share. In the email window that appears, invite participants by adding their email addresses in the To field. You can invite people using any email address or phone number, although participants need to use an iCloud account to view and edit a note. Make any additional edits to the email, then click Send.

    • Copy Link: After you select Copy Link, a text box appears. Add the email addresses or phone numbers of your participants. Click Share. A new window appears with the link for your note. Send the link, for example, using Facebook Messenger.

The Shared icon appears next to a shared note in the Notes list and, when the note is selected, the People button is highlighted and shows a checkmark.

To view and add participants to a shared note, select the note in your notes list, click the People button , then click the Add button at the bottom of the participants list.

The participant list with the Add button at the bottom.

When a person has been invited, but has not yet accepted, Invited appears under the person’s name.

Edit shared notes

  1. Go to Notes on iCloud.com, then do one of the following:

    • If you’re the owner: Select the note in your notes list.

    • If you accepted the invitation to the shared note: Select the note in your notes list.

    • If you’ve been invited to edit a note, but haven’t accepted the invitation: Click the link you received, then click Open in Notes.

      After you open the note for the first time, it appears in your notes list on iCloud.com and on your iOS devices and Mac computers that use the same iCloud account.

  2. Edit the note.

    When someone edits a shared note, everyone sharing the note sees the changes, but no one can see who made them. The time stamp below the note in the notes list shows the last time it was edited. If you’re not currently editing a shared note, a yellow dot appears next to the note in the notes list when someone else edits it.

    If you’re invited using an email address or phone number that isn’t associated with your iCloud account, you need to follow the onscreen instructions to associate it before you can open the note.

Stop sharing notes

You must be the owner of the note to stop sharing it.

  • Go to Notes on iCloud.com, select the note in your notes list, then click the People button . Then do one of the following:

    • Stop sharing with all participants: Click Stop Sharing.

    • Stop sharing with just one participant: Click the More button next to the person’s name, then select Remove Access.

Delete shared notes

If you’re the owner of a shared note, deleting it removes it from the devices of everyone sharing it. You can recover your recently deleted notes from your Recently Deleted folder.

If you delete a note that someone shared with you, it’s removed from your notes list, but not the owner’s notes list or any other participant’s notes list.

Note: If you delete a note that someone shared with you, the note doesn’t move to your Recently Deleted folder. You can edit the note again by clicking the original link that the owner shared, unless the note owner stopped sharing the note.

If you’re a participant, you can remove yourself from a shared note. Click the People button , click the More button next to your name, then click Remove Me.

Published Date: Mar 23, 2017
Helpful?