Add and remove people in a shared album in Photos on Mac
If you’re the creator of a shared album, you can invite others to join the album. You can also remove people from the album, manage album notifications, and turn posting for participants off and on. If you have friends and family who don’t use iCloud, you can share the album with them by sending an iCloud URL.
WARNING: If you plan to remove someone from a shared album, it’s a good idea to let them know in case they want to save any photos or videos from the shared album. When you remove someone, they no longer have access to the shared album and its contents.
Invite or remove people
If you’re the creator of a shared album, you can invite others to join it.
Go to the Photos app
on your Mac.
Click Shared Albums in the sidebar.
If you don’t see Shared Albums in the sidebar, hold the pointer over Sharing in the sidebar, then click
.
Double-click a shared album, then click
in the toolbar, then do any of the following:
Invite someone: Click
next to Invite Participants. Choose how to invite a participant (for instance, with a text message) or choose Add Access to add a new participant without sending an invitation.
Remove someone: Click
next to the person’s name, then choose Remove Participant.
Click Done.
When you invite someone to view a shared album, they receive an email or notification asking them to join.
Change what participants can do in a shared album
The creator of a shared album can set permissions for participants in the album.
Go to the Photos app
on your Mac.
Click Shared Albums in the sidebar.
If you don’t see Shared Albums in the sidebar, hold the pointer over Sharing in the sidebar, then click
.
Double-click a shared album, then click
in the toolbar.
Click
next to the name of the person whose permissions you want to change, then choose any of the following:
Can Manage Albums and Photos: Allow the participant to manage albums and photos, including settings.
Can Add Photos: Allow the participant to add photos to the shared album.
Can View and Comment: Allow the participant to view and comment in the shared album.
Share an album with people who don’t use iCloud
The creator of a shared album can create a unique iCloud URL to share the album with people who don’t use iCloud.
Note: Not all features are available in all countries or regions.
Go to the Photos app
on your Mac.
Click Shared Albums in the sidebar.
If you don’t see Shared Albums in the sidebar, hold the pointer over Sharing in the sidebar, then click
.
Double-click a shared album, then click
in the toolbar.
Select Public Website.
Copy the link, then paste it into an email or text message and send it to the people you want to invite.
Note: Participants who view your shared album on the web can’t comment on the items in it or view new comments posted by you or others. To make comments visible to someone without a Mac, iPhone, or iPad, post the comments before you invite the person to view the shared album.
Important: When Public Website is turned on, anyone with the URL can access the album.
Manage notifications
If you’re the creator of a shared album or a participant with permission to manage the album, you can turn album activity notifications off and on.
Go to the Photos app
on your Mac.
Click Shared Albums in the sidebar.
If you don’t see Shared Albums in the sidebar, hold the pointer over Sharing in the sidebar, then click
.
Double-click a shared album, then click
in the toolbar.
Turn on Allow Notifications to see notifications when participants like, comment, or add photos and videos to the album.
To change who can add photos or comment in an album, see Change what participants can do in a shared album.