Availability of two-factor authentication for Apple ID

Two-factor authentication is an extra layer of security for your Apple ID designed to ensure that you're the only person who can access your account, even if someone knows your password. 

Who can turn on two-factor authentication?

Two-factor authentication is available to iCloud and iTunes users with at least one device that's using the latest iOS or macOS. Here are the minimum recommended system requirements for all devices that you use with your Apple ID:

  • iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch that uses a passcode, with iOS 9 and later 
  • Mac with OS X El Capitan and iTunes 12.3 and later
  • Apple Watch with watchOS 2 and later
  • Apple TV (4th generation) with tvOS
  • Windows PC with iCloud for Windows 5 and iTunes 12.3.3 and later

We also recommend that you have a valid credit card on file in your account. This information may be requested to help verify your identity if you forget your password.

While most iCloud users can now turn on two-factor authentication, certain account types may still be ineligible at Apple’s discretion.

Some Apple IDs created in iOS 10.3 or macOS 10.12.4 and later are protected with two-factor authentication by default. In this case, you see that two-factor authentication is already turned on.

Turn on two-factor authentication for your Apple ID

There are two ways to turn on two-factor authentication.

Set up from a new device

If you're setting up a new device and two-factor authentication, and you meet all the recommended system requirements, you might see these screens after you sign in during setup assistant.


To proceed, tap Continue and enter a phone number that can be used to receive verification codes when signing in on a new device. After you verify this phone number, two-factor authentication will turn on automatically.

Set up from a device you're already using

If you're not setting up a new device, make sure that you’re using iOS 9 or later on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch or OS X El Capitan or later on your Mac and follow these steps to turn on two-factor authentication.

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch:

  1. Go to Settings > [your name] > Password & Security. If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, Go to Settings > iCloud. Tap your Apple ID > Password & Security.
  2. Tap Turn on Two-Factor Authentication.
  3. Tap Continue.

On the App Store or iTunes Store on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch:

  1. Update to the latest iOS.
  2. On the App Store or iTunes Store, tap  or your photo in the upper-right corner.
  3. Tap Create New Apple ID.
  4. Follow the direction on screen.

On your Mac:

  1. Go to Apple () menu > System Preferences > iCloud > Account Details.
  2. Click Security.
  3. At the bottom of your screen, look for a button that says Turn on Two-Factor Authentication.

If you don’t meet the recommended system requirements on all the devices you use with your Apple ID, or if you don’t have a valid credit card on file, you'll receive a related warning message. Read the message before proceeding and consider updating your devices or adding credit card information to your account to ensure the best possible experience when signing in or resetting your password.

Where is two-factor authentication for Apple ID available?

You can set up two-factor authentication in these countries or regions. When additional countries or regions are added, a link to turn on two-factor authentication will appear automatically on compatible devices.

Africa, Middle East, and India


  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia


  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • India
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Qatar
  • Reunion Island
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Asia Pacific


  • American Samoa
  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Japan


  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Timor, East
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam



  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia 
  • Faroe Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany


  • Greece
  • Guernsey
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Greenland
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macedonia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

Latin America and the Caribbean


  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica


  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • St. Kitts
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uruguay
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Venezuela

The United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico

  • Canada
  • Puerto Rico
  • United States


Information about products not manufactured by Apple, or independent websites not controlled or tested by Apple, is provided without recommendation or endorsement. Apple assumes no responsibility with regard to the selection, performance, or use of third-party websites or products. Apple makes no representations regarding third-party website accuracy or reliability. Risks are inherent in the use of the Internet. Contact the vendor for additional information. Other company and product names may be trademarks of their respective owners.

Published Date: