Share your notes

Invite your friends, family, or colleagues to collaborate on a note. Then you can partner on projects, plan a trip, make a grocery list, and more.

Add someone to any iCloud note in your Notes app. Then they can make edits and see your latest changes. And as long as your device is connected to the Internet, iCloud keeps your note up to date everywhere. So when you check off a to-do item, edit a sketch, or add an attachment, everyone sharing the note will always see the most recent version.

Before you begin

  1. Update your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to the latest iOS, and your Mac to the latest macOS.
  2. Set up iCloud on all of your devices.
  3. Make sure that you’re signed in to iCloud with the same Apple ID on all of your devices.
  4. Upgrade your notes so that you can use the latest features.

Everyone that you share with needs to update their device and notes too.

Use shared notes

You can edit your shared notes just like you do any other note in your Notes app. Then the changes will show up on everyone's device that shares the note with you. And you can tell when someone else has made edits. Look for  next to the note in your notes list.

You can’t share password-protected notes. If you want to share a password-protected note, tap  on your iOS device or  on your Mac and choose Remove Lock.

     

Add people to a note

Invite someone to collaborate on a note through Mail or Messages. Or copy a link to the note and send it to them any other way you like. Then they can open your note and start editing, just like that.

  1. Open the iCloud note that you want to share.
  2. Tap or click  .
  3. Choose how you'd like to send your invitation.
  4. On your Mac, click Share.

Want to know if you're already sharing a note? Look for at the top of your note or  in the notes list.

    

Manage who you share with

As the creator of a shared note, you control access and only you can make changes. Just tap or click  to see and manage who you're sharing the note with.

If you see Invited below a person's name, then they haven't accepted your invitation yet. You can also choose to remove specific people from a shared note or to add new people.

Add someone new

  1. Open .
  2. Tap or click Add People.
  3. Choose how you'd like to send your invitation.

Remove one person

  1. Open .
  2. Tap or click the person's name.
  3. Choose Remove Access.

Remove everyone

  1. Open .
  2. Tap or click Stop Sharing.
  3. Choose OK.

 

When you stop sharing a note with other people, the note automatically deletes from their device.

Delete a shared note

As the creator of a shared note, you can delete it at any time. And you delete it the same way you do your other notes. Just tap  and it moves into your Recently Deleted folder on all of your devices. It stays in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days. The note is completely removed from the device of the people you share it with.

Learn more

Want to send your note to someone but not collaborate? Tap  at the top of the note, then choose how you want to share it.

If you accidentally delete a note that someone else shared with you, you can re-download the Notes file from the original sharing invitation. When you re-download the note, it contains all of the changes to that note up to that point in time. If the creator stopped sharing the note, you can't re-download it. If you don't have the original invitation, ask the creator to share it again.

Published Date: Thu Oct 26 17:18:10 GMT 2017