Learn more about sharing content that can be accessed by Anyone with the Link
When you share an item that can be accessed by Anyone with the Link in version 27.3 or later of iOS, iPadOS, macOS, and visionOS, that content is made accessible to Apple to check for harmful content.
What happens when you share content that can be accessed by Anyone with the Link
When you share content that’s stored in iCloud, such as a photo in iCloud Photos or a file in iCloud Drive, you can choose to Share a Link or Send a Copy of the item. If you choose Share a Link, you can either share the item with “People you choose” — only people you invite or approve — or with “Anyone with the link," which makes it accessible to anyone who has the link, including Apple. Starting in version 27.3 or later of iOS, iPadOS, macOS, and visionOS, items shared using Anyone with the Link will be checked by Apple for harmful content.
When you share an item that can be accessed by Anyone with the Link, to facilitate that sharing, the item is no longer end-to-end encrypted, even if the owner or participants have turned on Advanced Data Protection.
What happens if content is flagged
If you try to upload harmful content, Apple reserves the right to move, refuse, modify, remove, or delete the content at any time. Apple may also take action against your Apple Account, including blocking or disabling your Apple Account, blocking the ability to create a new Apple Account with the associated email address or phone number, or if necessary, involving law enforcement.
Not all features are available in all countries or regions.