Languages

iPhoto '11: Turn off My Photo Stream

Turn off My Photo Stream

If you turn off My Photo Stream in iPhoto, the following happens:

  • Your photo stream photos are removed from the Photo Stream view in iPhoto.

  • New photos taken with iOS devices in your photo stream continue to be uploaded to iCloud, but aren’t pushed to iPhoto.

  • New photos you import into iPhoto no longer appear on the iOS devices in your photo stream.

  • If you turned on Shared Photo Streams in iPhoto preferences, you can continue to interact with your shared photo streams.

Your photo stream photos remain in iCloud for 30 days, and then they’re removed automatically. If you turn My Photo Stream back on in iPhoto, any photos that haven’t been removed reappear in the Photo Stream view in iPhoto.

Your photo stream photos continue to appear on your iOS devices until the photos are removed from iCloud, unless you turn off My Photo Stream on a device.

To turn off My Photo Stream in iPhoto:

  1. Choose iPhoto > Preferences, and then click Photo Stream.

  2. Deselect My Photo Stream, and then click Turn Off.

To turn off My Photo Stream on an iOS device:

WARNING:   Turning off My Photo Stream on an iOS device removes all of your photo stream photos from the device, except for photos that have been saved to the device’s Camera Roll or to an album.
  1. On your device’s Home screen, tap Settings, and then tap Photos & Camera.

  2. Tap to turn off My Photo Stream.

If you turn off My Photo Stream on a device but don’t turn it off in iPhoto, your photo stream continues to work with iPhoto and your other devices.

Last Modified: Apr 23, 2013
Helpful?
Yes
No
  • Last Modified: Apr 23, 2013
  • Article: PH2714
  • Views:

    46795
  • Rating:
    • 20.0

    (1 Responses)

Additional Product Support Information