Keynote for Mac: Change a shared presentation’s settings

Change a shared presentation’s settings

If you’re the owner, you can view or change a shared presentation’s access and permission settings at any time.

If a presentation’s access is set to “Only people you invite,” you can also set a different permission for each individual.

View access and permission

  1. Click the Collaborators button in the toolbar.

    The participant list appears. Participants can edit the presentation unless you see View Only below their name.

    If you’re the owner, a summary of the access and permission settings appears below Share Options; click Share Options to see the details.

  2. To view a person’s permission, move the pointer over the name in the participant list, then click the three dots that appear on the right.

Change access for everyone

If you’re the owner of the presentation, you can change its access at any time, but anyone you shared the link with is affected. Here are the results of changing the setting:

  • From “Only people you invite” to “Anyone with the link”: The people you originally invited can still open the presentation, along with anyone else who has the link. They don’t need to sign in to iCloud with the email address or phone number you used to send the link.

  • From “Anyone with the link” to “Only people you invite”: The original link no longer works for anyone. Only people who receive an invitation from you can open the presentation, and they must sign in to iCloud with an Apple ID.

  1. Click the Collaborators button in the toolbar.

  2. Click Share Options, click the “Who can access” pop-up menu, then choose the setting you want.

    The Share Options section of the collaboration dialog with the “Who can access” pop-up menu open and “Only people you invite” selected.

Anyone who has the presentation open when you change the setting sees an alert, and if your change causes the person to lose access to the presentation, it closes immediately. Otherwise, the new setting takes effect when they dismiss the alert.

Change permission for everyone

If you’re the owner of a shared presentation with access set to “Only people you invite,” you can quickly change everyone’s permission.

  1. Click the Collaborators button in the toolbar.

  2. Click Share Options, then click the Permission pop-up menu and make your change.

    The Share Options section of the collaboration dialog with the Permission pop-up menu open and “Can make changes” selected.

    Anyone who has the presentation open when you change the permission sees an alert. New settings take effect when they dismiss the alert.

Change permission or remove access for one participant

If you’re the owner of a shared presentation with access set to “Only people you invite,” you can change the permission for an individual without affecting the permission of others. You can also remove their access to the presentation.

  1. Click the Collaborators button in the toolbar.

  2. Move the pointer over the person’s name, click the three dots that appear next to it, then click an option.

    Anyone who has the presentation open when you change their permission sees an alert. The new setting takes effect when the alert is dismissed.

    If you choose Remove Access, the person is asked to close the presentation, and it’s removed from their iCloud Drive. Any edits they made to the presentation remain.

Published Date: Apr 3, 2019
Helpful?