Logic Pro X: Manage Logic Pro content

Manage Logic Pro content

Logic Pro features an extensive Sound Library of Apple Loops, patches, drum kits, and other content that you can use in your projects. When you install Logic Pro, essential sounds and instruments are included as part of the installation. Additional content is available to download after the installation is complete.

You can view available content and select content to download in the Sound Library Manager. Some items in the Sound Library Manager have a disclosure triangle, which you can click to show and select individual content types to download. You can also download updated sounds and reinstall the complete Sound Library using the Sound Library Manager. Updated sounds are indicated in the Sound Library Manager and can be downloaded. Some additional content can also be downloaded directly in the Library and the Loop Browser.

Additional content is required to use some sounds and other features. When you select an item that requires additional content, a dialog appears, asking if you want to download the content. In the Library and the Loop Browser, items with content not yet installed include a Download button that allows you to download the content directly.

Content types

The Sound Library includes the following types of content:

  • Apple Loops

  • Drum kits

  • Patches

  • Plug-in settings

  • Sampler instruments and their associated samples

  • Impulse responses

  • Legacy and compatibility content, including Jam Packs, sounds, and instruments

Content locations

Logic Pro installs Sound Library content in several different locations on your computer:

Content type


Apple Loops

/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/

Impulse responses

/Library/Audio/Impulse Responses/Apple/


Patches are stored inside Logic Pro. They may be added, updated, or removed when a new version is installed.

Plug-in settings

Plug-in settings are stored inside Logic Pro and in /Library/Application Support/Logic/Plug-In Settings.

Sampler instruments

/Library/Application Support/Logic/Sampler Instruments


  • /Library/Application Support/Logic/Alchemy Samples

  • /Library/Application Support/Logic/EXS Factory Samples

  • /Library/Application Support/Logic/Ultrabeat Samples

Relocating the Sound Library

You can relocate the Sound Library to another compatible volume or partition, provided enough free space exists for the Sound Library. When you relocate the Sound Library, all Sound Library content except for Apple Loops and Impulse Responses is moved to the new location. User-created content is not affected.

Relocating the Sound Library to an external drive can free up a large amount of disk space on your system drive. If you change your mind or decide you no longer want to keep the content in another location, you can relocate the Sound Library back to its original location. When you install additional content after relocation, it is installed in the new location. For detailed information on relocating content and possible issues, see the Support article Move Logic Pro X and MainStage content on the Web.

Note: Other Apple music creation apps such as MainStage and GarageBand share the same Sound Library location. When you relocate the Sound Library, it is also relocated for these apps if they are installed on your computer.

Reinstalling the Sound Library

You can reinstall the Sound Library. This can be useful to make sure you have the latest version of all available content, and also in case the drive containing the Sound Library is no longer available.

If the Sound Library is available in its current location when you reinstall it, it is reinstalled in the same location. If the Sound Library is not available (for example, if it is installed on an external drive that is lost or not connected to your computer), it is reinstalled in the default location on your system drive.

Deleting Logic Pro content

You can view and delete Logic Pro content by choosing About This Mac from the Apple menu, clicking Storage, then clicking the Manage button for your system storage drive. Content for Logic Pro (as well as other music creation apps, including GarageBand and MainStage) is listed in the Music Creation section. You can view the capacity of the Instrument Library and Apple Loops library and delete each of these items.

If you delete Logic Pro content that is required for a patch or software instrument, Logic Pro prompts you to re-download that content the next time you try to use the patch or instrument.

Open the Sound Library Manager

  • Choose Logic Pro > Sound Library > Open Sound Library Manager.

    Figure. The Download Additional Content window.

Download additional content

  1. Do one of the following:

    • In the Sound Library Manager, select the checkbox for each content package you want to download.

    • To download all uninstalled content, click the Select All Uninstalled button.

  2. Click Install.

While additional content is downloading, a progress bar appears in the lower part of the LCD. You can view more detailed information about the progress of the download by clicking the progress bar.

Download additional content in the Library or the Loop Browser

Items in the Library and the Loop Browser that require additional content are indicated by a Download button .

  • Click the Download button next to the item name.

Download all available sounds

  • Choose Logic Pro > Sound Library > Download All Available Sounds.

Relocate the Sound Library

  1. Choose Logic Pro > Sound Library > Relocate Sound Library.

    The Relocate Sound Library window opens, showing available drives and the free space available on each. Unsuitable drives are dimmed, with the reason for their unsuitability shown in the Comments column.

  2. Select the new Sound Library location, then click Relocate.

    The Sound Libary is relocated to the selected location. If other music creation apps such as GarageBand or MainStage are open, you are asked to close them before relocation can proceed.

    When relocation is complete, the Relocate Sound Library window closes.

Reinstall the Sound Library

  • Choose Logic Pro > Sound Library > Reinstall Sound Library.

Published Date: Aug 9, 2019