Delete a note
Before you delete notes, here are things to keep in mind:
If you delete a note that’s stored on your Mac, it’s moved to the Recently Deleted folder. You can view and restore notes in the Recently Deleted folder for up to 30 days before they’re permanently deleted from all your devices.
If you’re using upgraded iCloud notes, deleted notes are moved to the Recently Deleted folder for that iCloud account, on all devices that use the same account.
If you haven’t upgraded your iCloud notes or are using a notes account other than iCloud, deleted notes are removed permanently from all devices that use the same account.
If you delete a note you’ve been added to as a participant, the note is deleted from all your devices; however, if you still have the link you received when you were invited to open the note, you may be able to access it again.
If you delete a note that you added people to, the note is deleted from all your devices and all the participants’ devices.
For more information, see Add people to notes.
If you want to delete a locked note, you must enter a password. For more information, see Lock your notes with a password or Touch ID.
Tip: Click the Sidebar button to show the list of folders.
Delete a note: Select the note, then click the Delete button or press Delete (or use the Touch Bar). If you have a trackpad or a Magic Mouse, you can also swipe left with two fingers on the note (in the list of notes), then click the Delete button .
View a recently deleted note: Click Recently Deleted, then select a note.
Restore a recently deleted note: Drag a note from the Recently Deleted folder to another folder in the sidebar.
Permanently delete a recently deleted note: Select the note in the Recently Deleted folder, then click the Delete button (or press Delete).