Apple Configurator 1.x: Preserving user-installed apps when updating settings on an assigned device
Learn how to preserve apps installed by a user who has checked out a device that is supervised by Apple Configurator 1.x.
This article has been archived and is no longer updated by Apple.
By default, whenever you connect a supervised device to Apple Configurator 1.x, any apps which were installed on that device by a user will be deleted.
With Apple Configurator v1.1 or later, you can change this setting in Preferences, under the Apple Configurator menu.