Delete Azure AD accounts that appear in Apple Business Essentials
When deleting an account in Azure AD, that account won’t be deactivated in Apple Business Essentials until you permanently delete the user from Azure AD. See the Microsoft Support article Restore or remove a recently deleted user using Azure Active Directory.
If you aren’t an Azure AD administrator with permissions to delete accounts, send the URL for this page to your Azure AD administrator and work together to delete the accounts.
When you connect Apple Business Essentials to Azure AD using SCIM, accounts are synced from Azure AD to Apple Business Essentials. If the account is no longer needed in Apple Business Essentials, you must delete that account from Azure AD, not simply remove it from the Apple Business Manager Azure AD app. Deleting an account from Azure AD deactivates it in Apple Business Essentials.
If an Azure AD account is removed from the Apple Business Manager Azure AD app by mistake and a new user is created with the same user name, Apple Business Essentials:
Won’t merge the account and the previous account is marked as a conflicting account
Will merge the accounts if Auto Merge is enabled
Important: Don’t remove an account; instead, delete it. Also, don’t reuse a user name for 30 days in the Apple Business Manager Azure AD app.
Delete an account in Azure AD
Depending on where the account exists, you may have more than one way to delete an account:
Sync Only Assigned User accounts: The user can be deleted from the Apple Business Manager Azure AD app or deleted from the Azure AD Users tab.
Sync All Users accounts: The user must be deleted from the Azure AD Users tab.
To delete an account, see the Microsoft Support article Add or delete users using Azure Active Directory.
Search for and select all the accounts you want to delete.
You must wait 40 minutes for Azure AD to sync the change to Apple Business Essentials for the accounts to get deactivated.