Share your notes on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac

With the Notes app on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, you can invite people to collaborate on your iCloud notes and folders. Then you can partner on projects, plan a trip, make a grocery list, and more.

About sharing notes

You can add someone to any iCloud note or an entire folder of notes on your device. Then they can make edits and see the latest changes you’ve made. If you’re the owner of a note, you can remove collaborators from your notes and folders whenever you want.

As long as your device is connected to the Internet, iCloud keeps your notes and folders up to date everywhere. So when you check off an item on your to-do list, edit a sketch, or add an attachment, everyone sharing the note or folder will see the most recent version.

You can’t share password-protected notes. If you want to share a password-protected note, tap  on your iOS device or  on your Mac and choose Remove Lock.

Before you begin

  1. Update your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to the latest iOS or iPadOS, and your Mac to the latest macOS.
  2. Set up iCloud on all of your devices.
  3. Make sure that you’re signed in to iCloud with the same Apple ID on all of your devices.
  4. Upgrade your notes so that you can use the latest features. Everyone that you share with needs to update their device and notes too. If you have drawings in any of your notes, make sure they have been updated so you can use the latest features.


Add people to a note

Invite someone to collaborate on a note through Mail or Messages. Or copy a link to the note and send it to them any other way you like. Here's how:

  1. Open the iCloud note that you want to share.
  2. Tap or click add collaborators button .
  3. Choose how you'd like to send your invitation. Then select the person you want to share with.
  4. On an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, the note will automatically send based on how you shared it. If you're on a Mac, you need to click Share.

If you want to add more people to a shared note, open the iCloud note, tap add collaborators button, then tap Add People and follow steps 3-4. 

Want to know if you're already sharing a note? Look for  at the top of your note or  in the notes list. Want to send your note to someone but not collaborate? Tap  at the top of the note, then choose how you want to share it.

Add people to a folder

  1. Go to your Folders list. 
  2. On an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, swipe left over the folder you want to share. On a Mac, select the folder.
  3. Tap . On a Mac, select the Folder option in the menu that appears.
  4. Add who you want to share your folder with. Then choose how you'd like to share the invitation. On an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, the note will automatically send based on how you shared it. If you're on a Mac, you need to click Share.

You need iOS 13 or iPadOS to share a folder or accept an invitation to collaborate on a shared folder.

Manage how you share

As the creator of a shared note, you control access to who makes changes. From the note, just tap or click  to see who you're sharing the note with. Then tap or click Share Options and select the option that you want, like "Can make changes" or "View only."

If you see "Invited" below a person's name, then they haven't accepted your invitation yet. Anyone on a shared note can add attachments, create checklists, sketch a drawing, and more. They can also edit text unless you set them to "View only." When a shared note is updated, everyone on the note will receive a notification that an update was made. To hide these notifications, from the note, tap  and turn on Hide Alerts.

To turn on Highlight All Changes, go to the note, tap , then turn on the setting. This will highlight all changes you or collaborators make to the note.

You need iOS 13 or iPadOS to use some of the latest Notes features, like View only and Highlight All Changes.

Remove people from shared notes

To remove one person from a shared note:

  1. Open .
  2. Tap or click the person's name.
  3. Tap or click Remove Access.

To remove everyone from a shared note: 

  1. Open .
  2. Tap or click Stop Sharing.
  3. Choose OK.

When you stop sharing a note with other people, the note automatically deletes from their device.

Delete a shared note

As the creator of a shared note, you can delete it at any time. You delete shared notes the same way you delete other notes. Just tap the trash button , and the note moves to your Recently Deleted folder on all your devices. It stays in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days. The note is completely removed from the device of the people you share it with.

If you accidentally delete a note that someone else shared with you, you can re-accept the Notes file from the original invitation. When you re-accept the note, it contains all the changes to that note up to that point in time. If the creator stopped sharing the note, you can't accept it. If you don't have the original invitation, ask the creator to share it again or check your Recently Deleted folder.

Published Date: