Erase your Mac and reset it to factory settings
Use the Erase All Content and Settings feature to quickly and securely erase all of your data, settings, and apps, while maintaining the operating system currently installed.
Before you begin
These steps erase all of your data from your Mac. If you back up your Mac first, you can use that backup to restore your files to a new Mac. Or you can transfer your files from this Mac to another Mac before erasing.
If your Mac was previously repaired, or you’re not sure, use Repair Assistant to check for an unfinished repair. This is necessary only if you’re using a Mac with Apple silicon and macOS 26 or later.
Use Erase All Content and Settings
If your Mac doesn’t have these options, learn what to do if you can’t use Erase All Content and Settings.
From the Apple menu in the corner of your screen, choose System Settings.
Click General in the sidebar, then scroll down on the right and click Transfer or Reset.
Click Erase All Content and Settings.
Follow the onscreen instructions, which will ask for several passwords:
When asked for your administrator credentials or the password you use to unlock this Mac, enter the password for your macOS user account. It’s the same password you use to log in to your Mac. Forgot your login password?
When asked for your Apple Account (or Apple ID) password, enter the password for your Apple Account. Forgot your Apple Account password?
When you see the Erase All Content & Settings button, click it to proceed.
Important: Because this signs you out of Apple services, you might get a message asking whether you want to sign back in to your Apple Account or iCloud so that you can continue using those services. Ignore that message and click Erase All Content & Settings.
All of your data, settings, and apps are now erased, and your Mac restarts. As it starts up:
You might be asked to turn on your Bluetooth accessory, such as a mouse, trackpad, or keyboard. If the accessory doesn't connect within 30 seconds, turn the accessory off and back on.
You might be asked to select a Wi-Fi network or attach a network cable to proceed. You can use the in the corner of the screen to select a network.
Your Mac activates, then restarts again. A setup assistant then guides you through the setup process, as if you're setting up your Mac for the first time. If you're selling, giving away, or trading-in your Mac and want to leave it in an out-of-box state, don't use the setup assistant or your previously connected Bluetooth devices, if any. Just press and hold the power button on your Mac until it turns off.
No matter the model or condition, we can turn your device into something good for you and good for the planet: Learn how to trade in or recycle your Mac with Apple Trade In.
If you can't use Erase All Content and Settings
Erase All Content and Settings requires macOS Monterey 12 or later and a Mac with Apple silicon or Mac with the Apple T2 Security Chip.
If using macOS Monterey 12 on a Mac that supports this feature, choose System Preferences from the Apple menu . Then choose Erase All Content and Settings from the System Preferences menu in the menu bar.
To erase your Mac and reset it to factory settings, you can instead follow the steps for what to do before you sell, give away, or trade in, or recycle your Mac, but disregard the instructions for using Erase All Content and Settings.
If you get a message that other volumes need to be erased before you can erase all content and settings, you might have used Boot Camp to install Microsoft Windows. Use Boot Camp to remove Windows and its partition.