Share your notes on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

With the Notes app you can invite people to collaborate on your iCloud notes and folders. Then you can partner on projects, plan a trip, make a grocery list, and more.

About sharing notes

You can add someone to any iCloud note or an entire folder of notes on your device. Then they can make edits and see the latest changes you’ve made. If you’re the owner of a note, you can remove others from your notes and folders whenever you want.

As long as your device is connected to the Internet, iCloud keeps your notes and folders up to date everywhere, which means an iCloud note you have on your iPhone will also show up on your iPad. So when you check off an item on your to-do list, edit a sketch, or add an attachment, everyone sharing the note or folder will see the most recent version.

You can’t share password-protected notes. If you want to share a password-protected note, tap the note, tap the More button , then tap Remove and share the note.

Before you begin

  1. Update your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to the latest version of iOS or iPadOS.
  2. Set up iCloud on all of your devices.
  3. Make sure that you’re signed in to iCloud with the same Apple ID on all your devices.
  4. Upgrade your notes so that you can use the latest features. Everyone that you share with needs to update their device and notes too. If you have drawings in any of your notes, make sure they've been updated so you can use the latest features.


iPhone showing how to add someone to a note

Add someone to a note

  1. Open the iCloud note that you want to share.
  2. Tap the More button , then tap Share Note add collaborators button .
  3. Choose how you'd like to send your invitation. Then select the person you want to share with.
  4. Depending on how you share, you may need to tap Send.

To add more people to a shared note, open the iCloud note, tap the Add People button , then tap Add People and follow steps 3-4. If you're already sharing a note, you'll see the Add People button  at the top of the note or the people icon  in the notes list.

iPhone showing how to add someone to a folder in Notes

Add people to a folder

  1. Go to your Folders list. 
  2. Swipe left over the folder that you want to share, then tap the Add People button 
  3. Choose how you'd like to share the invitation, then select the person you want to share with. 
  4. Depending on how you share, you may need to tap Send.

You need iOS 13 or later, or iPadOS to share a folder or accept an invitation to collaborate on a shared folder. You can't share a folder that has a locked note, or a note that's shared by someone else.

iPhone showing how to manage how you share

Manage how you share

As the creator of a shared note, you control access to who makes changes. From the shared note, tap the Add People button  to see who you're sharing with. Then tap Share Options and select the option that you want, like "Can make changes" or "View only."

If you see "Invited" below a person's name, then they haven't accepted your invitation yet. Anyone on a shared note can add attachments, create checklists, sketch a drawing, and edit text. When someone is set as "View only" they can't make any changes to the shared note.

When a shared note is updated, everyone on the note will receive a notification that an update was made. To hide these notifications, from the note, tap the Add People button  and turn on Hide Alerts. 

To turn on Highlight All Changes, go to the note, tap the Add People button , then turn on the setting. This will highlight all changes you or collaborators make to the note.

You need iOS 13 or later, or iPadOS to use some of the latest Notes features, like View only and Highlight All Changes.

Remove people from shared notes

To remove one person from a shared note:

  1. Open the note and tap the Add People button .
  2. Tap the person's name.
  3. Tap Remove Access.

To remove everyone from a shared note: 

  1. Open the note and tap the Add People button .
  2. Tap Stop Sharing.
  3. Tap Stop Sharing again to confirm.

When you stop sharing a note with other people, the note automatically deletes from their device.

Delete a shared note

If you create and share a note, you can delete it whenever you want. To delete a shared note, tap the More button , then tap Trash button . If you're in the Notes list, you can also swipe left over the note, then tap the Trash button  and tap Delete Shared Note.

When you delete a note, it moves to your Recently Deleted folder on all your devices and stays in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days. The note is completely removed from the device of the people you share it with.

If you accidentally delete a note that someone else shared with you, you can accept the Notes file again from the original invitation. When you accept the note, it contains all the changes to that note up to that point in time. If the creator stopped sharing the note, you can't accept it. If you don't have the original invitation, ask the creator to share it again or check your Recently Deleted folder.

Published Date: